Daily Prompt: Dulled

This is my first Daily Prompt, so I thought I would start with a very, very short story.

You encounter a mysterious man offering you a magic potion that, once sipped, will make one of your senses (sight, hearing, taste, smell, touch) super sharp — but dull the others. Will you sip it, and if so, what sense do you choose?

I take the bottle and sip, it tastes faintly of cherries or beer, or something sweet, or salty?  The smell, however,  is immediately overwhelming, fermented cherry and cinnamon and other smells all equally strong but unidentifiable.

Dusky dimness engulfs me, even though I know us, the man and I, to be standing in the full sunlight on a dirt road.

© ollirg - Fotolia.com
© ollirg – Fotolia.com

The smell of the forest a good 1/2 a mile away, and  the dirt of the road fills my nostrils.  The faint whiff of incense a moment before, now entangles my mind, making me momentarily dizzy.

I reach out to the stranger, but I barely feel his arm under my hand. I can make out the coarse, rough, skin between my fingers, it doesn’t make sense, not with what I can feel, something akin to paper.

Another unidentified smell almost knocks me to the ground again, I can hear faint rustling above my head.  I look toward the sound, a flock of swans are flying just over our heads, landing on the water a short way of.  The smell of the lake water, the grasses, the mud, rush towards me.

As I turn back toward the mysterious man, I find he has gone, almost, the faint essence of the man still lingers in the air.

Like a gust of wind he is gone.

I realise I am able to see, I can hear, I can smell, I can taste, I can feel.

4 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Dulled

  1. Pingback: On My Front Porch

Leave a Reply

