Daily Prompt: Rolling Stone

If you could live a nomadic life, would you? Where would you go? How would you decide? What would life be like without a “home base”?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us TRAVEL.

I’m not a traveller, I get travel sickness, and have head aches, and queasiness for days after any sort of travel involving distances.  So not the best beginning for a nomad of any sort except those using horses or camels.

As a child however I travelled quite a lot, I was born in the Pilbara region of Western Australia and by the time I was 12 had travelled right down the west side of this large island  to Ceduna in South Australia and then on to New Zealand.   Now for those of you who are familiar with Australia especially the outback, the distances we have to travel sometimes just to a party or even shopping are huge, and my parent went to alot of parties!  Now while my mother hated this nomadic lifestyle, I loved it, and dream now of being free enough to just sell everything and take of to far flung lands for adventures, travel sickness aside, to see sights I’ve only seen in books and tv.

My ideal adventure would include a fullly self contained RV or caravan (living without hygiene facilities is just not me!), and a boat as accommodation rather than going from motel to motel.  I would love to just pull up in places park my RV or boat and get out and experience the country I might be in.

I would go everywhere, but  probably food would motivate me more than anything else.  I would love to go to India, and Thailand, China and Japan for their cuisine.   America to experience those super size helpings of ribs and burgers and chips.  I would find genuine pork pies in England and try Champagne from France.

One trip might include going to different countries in Europe and try their different types of cheeses.  Or may be to Germany to try a genuine Black Forest Gateau, (incidentally as a child we knew a German family and the mother made the most luscious Black Forest gateau I have ever tasted, don’t ever try those ones in the cheesecake shop, they are NOT the same).  Of course after eating Gateau we might take a little ride on the Rhine, hopefully in the middle of winter.  In school I learnt German and one year our teacher showed us pictures of castles covered in snow along the Rhine, it was magical and I dreamed of living in one of those castles (I know cliquè every little girl wanting to be a princess), we may also take in the Octoberfest, I know might clash with my gateau eating and cruise taking?!

Now don’t ask me how I’m going to get my caravan to all those countries, I don’t know yet 🙂

Happy travels people!

Waimate-NZ
Waimate-NZ
8 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Rolling Stone

Leave a Reply

